Galerie Virtueller Rundgang Film Beschreibung

Vank Cathedral

This church was originally built as a prayer hall in 1606 and then renovated and extended to its current appearance with its high double-layer dome. It received the name of Vank church in 1655. Underneath the 38-meter high dome is the prayer hall that holds a unique collection of beautiful frescos depicting stories from the Old and New Testaments. The influence of Italian and Dutch painting is quite obvious. In addition to these wall paintings there are also floral ornamentations and exquisite tile work with gild decorations.


In the Northern part of the church's courtyard, there are other important memorials, namely a library, a monument to the Armenian martyrs killed in the 1915 genocide by the Ottomans Turks and a museum. This museum holds the oldest books printed in Esfahan by the instruction the Safavid and Qajarid kings as well as many other precious objects.

برخی دیگر از تورهای موجود